Time and Time Again

And BOOM! The first month of 2019 has already gone by. Just like that. I have yet to start my semester with HECUA, my Art for Social Change program, which starts the first week of February. I don’t remember the last time I had so much time on my hands where I was able to do the productive things I always talked about doing. January has been so healthy and so dear to me. I needed this month to recenter myself, plan the next few months of my life, and do things for me.

I spent a long weekend at the beginning of January in Arizona with one of my best friends. We sat at the pool, did a few hikes, visited Sedona, and stayed far away from the Minnesota cold.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Aside from working, this month consisted of saying goodbye to friends that are going back to school and going abroad. This was strange for me because so many of my friends are studying abroad, and this was something I wanted to pursue but couldn’t without me graduating late. On the bright side of this, I have been planning about a month-long trip to Europe coming up in May! Not only will I be doing traveling to places like London, Spain, Prague, and more, but I also found a Marketing/Communications internship in Spain that I am looking into applying for! If things work out perfectly as they are in my head, then I have a huge thing to look forward to.

Ideally, when I come back from Europe, I have an opportunity to do summer research at Hamline with my advisor. This is another big task I have been taking on since my proposal is due the beginning of March. Doing an internship abroad and paid summer research in one summer? I hit the summer jackpot. (Well, fingers crossed if I get accepted into both…I am just too ambitious.

I also can’t even begin to tell you how many books I have been reading this month. I was never much of a reader, but since I have had more free time than usual I figured I should start. I am almost finished with Michelle Obama’s book, Becoming, and I have to say that it is now one of my favorites. Along with reading, I’ve created a consistent workout routine and have been taking dance classes in Minneapolis.

Due to the freezing cold temperatures this week, all of my jobs and events got canceled and my car won’t start or jump. So I almost quite literally have been trapped at my house. This was a perfect opportunity to begin the blog that I have been talking about for months. The name is called Savannah Brie and you can check it out here! I am beyond thrilled, and slightly nervous, to get it started.

I start my internship at Washburn High School tomorrow and my classes with HECUA begin next week. I am very excited for this semester and the opportunities that lie ahead of me. Already feeling good about this year. (:

One thought on “Time and Time Again

  1. Cool pics! 🙂

    Trip to Europe, yay!!! Can’t wait to hear about that. I’ll be in Barcelona May 23-26; wouldn’t it be cool if we could meet up for lunch on La Rambla?!

    Way to go getting your blog going! And it’s so cool that you’re excited for the new semester, your positivity has already improved my day! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment